Fiction

A house, a ghost and Philip Norman- Part II


Previous

“I hope you are not serious”, I replied after a few minutes.

Monique shook her head slowly.” I know you are going to think I am crazy, but the last owner herself had confided in me. She is an old friend, you know! In fact one night she was so scared that she had left the house in the middle of the night, not even bothering to change from her PJs. And she never had the nerve to go back in there after that, not even to get her stuffs.”. Monique paused, her eyes as wide as a pair of saucers.”If you believe in God, then you have to prepare yourself to accept the fact that there are evil forces out there”, she added in a hoarse voice that I found a little hilarious.

I wanted to tell her that I don’t believe in anything except one dollar McD burger.But I bit my tongue and swallowed back those words. “Well, thanks Ms Sasha for your concern, but I don’t believe in such things”,I added politely.

She kept looking at me for a while, and I saw her wide eyes fill with pity.”Well, Mr Norman, that means I should be congratulating the new home owner”, she forced a smile. “But I suggest you at least have your house blessed by a pastor. I can recommend some one good”,

“Yeah, may be I will. I will get in touch”. I added and she shrugged. Then I went back to what I was doing, pretending that the conversation never happened.

The deal was too good to let go and I was desperate for a decent space to restart my landscaping business. Falling out with my previous partner had resulted in a huge financial mess and we had to sell the property we co owned. After dividing the money and paying of a few odd debts, I was not left with much.I knew I couldn’t afford anything fancy and this house was the best thing that had happened to me in a long long while. And even if I wanted to back off from the deal, I couldn’t. I only had a week more to move my tools and nursery from the old place we just sold. I had been looking for an apt place for about two months. I had almost given up when this deal came through as a blessing. A crazy story about a non existent ghost was not enough to dampen my spirits.

I signed the contract on the same day. My mortgage was approved without any issues. Finally I felt relaxed, my life was back on track!

*************************************************************************

She was right. Monique I mean. There is something wrong with this house.

Everything went as smoothly as I had dreamed. The nursery was set up. One of the bedroom was conveniently converted as the office room and the small out house was perfect as the worker’s lounge. However, within a week of moving in I knew it was in there-the ghost or what ever it was- as it became an ever lingering presence around me. I just shrugged off the feeling in the beginning. May be my mind was playing tricks on me, may be the warning that Monique had given me was buried deep within my subconscious mind, causing me to imagine things that were not actually there.

But then my workers started complaining that they could feel cold spots through out the house. Lizy, my sister, came visiting one day and freaked out when she heard some one whispering in the visibly empty hallway. Another night I was watching the TV and felt all the hairs on my body stand up- literally. No, I did not leave the house in my PJs in the middle of the night, not only because they were in such a sorry-tattered state, but also due to the fact that did not feel in any immediate mortal danger. I was not going to let any one, dead or alive, ruin my chance at a better life!

Next

I would love to know what you thought....

