Poem

I had thought I loved you


I had thought I loved you…

All these days

when I built

my world around you and

had ceased to be

the real me

to become someone

whom you would think of

as worthy of your love!


I had thought I loved you…

All these days

as I struggled

to keep you close

every time you longed

to break free from

the narrow alleys of our bland life

to soar high

and win new horizons!

I had thought I loved you..

All these days

when I wept alone

and whispered my fears

to the empty rooms

knowing that I failed

to hold together

the tiny world where

once our joy reigned!

I had thought I loved you

All these days

even as I went on my knees

begging you to stay

unable to fathom

a world without you

lying through my teeth and

shamelessly playing

dirty games with your conscience

I had thought I loved you…

All these days,

until I saw

the flaws in my path and knew

what I called love

was not love, but something else.

Love was not

what I thought it was!

2 thoughts on “I had thought I loved you

I would love to know what you thought....

