Poem

Incertitude


Mine was an arranged marriage, at a very young age of 22.I had written a poem around the time of my engagement,just stumbled upon it today while I was searching for a document in my email.I know it is silly, but it actually shows all my fear and hesitation :).Couldn’t resist sharing this one!

 

Sometimes I do wonder why I have never fallen in love
And trust me, I do deeply regret it now
I have heard about that wonderful feeling
And have been warned of wounds without room for healing
Was I a little too scared
Or did I not find anyone about whom I cared ?
Or did I care a little too much
About rituals ,customs and such?
why have I never fallen in love
And trust me I do deeply regret it now

No,I didn’t want a Mr perfect
someone with not a single defect
Was it misfortune or was it fate
The reason why I never found my soul mate?
May be I should have been on a lookout,
it has to be my fault, I do know, without any doubt
Why have I never fallen in love
And trust me I do deeply regret it now

I am scared that now is a little too late
Don’t I have any more time to wait?
They said I have to make a decision
And I did,not without some hesitation
But now there is no looking back ,
I have to accept things that my life is going to lack
Is it going to be just a compromise
I know, not many will call this move wise
I wonder, will I ever fall in love?
or will I live to regret my resolve?

7 thoughts on “Incertitude

  1. Beautiful poem that described your mind, heart and emotions at that time. You married quite young, I guess and hope you’ve found your answers bout love, life and of course, your identity read individuality as a human being:)

I would love to know what you thought....

