Opinion

Why I am not an Atheist


god-4

Do I believe in God?

This is an easy question which I can just answer with an yes or a no.

Now if the question is phrased a little differently, say why do you believe in God or why don’t you believe in God, it is going to get complex!

There are people who can give you a logical,convincing explanation about anything under the sun. There are people who can make the most illogical theory sound convincing.There are some others, who don’t even bother looking for any logic in anything. I am somewhere in between, I have a logical explanation for every thoughts and beliefs that live within me,but these explanations might sound lame and senseless to others.
Since our life is our own journey and each and every one of us is bound to have distinct hybrid shades of thoughts picked up at random time from random sources,logic might fail us while we try to put it all together!
So to answer the first question, yes I do believe in God.And the second question ,Why? would leave me scratching my head!

I have never had a personal encounter with the almighty, nor have I an impressive account of miracle to share. I have often heard that the concept of God is abstract, it doesn’t have proof! Well, isn’t that the beauty of it. God is an abstract idea, each of us can tailor it according to our imagination.

Why should I not believe in God, what good does that do? I won’t buy the idea that religion is the root of all evil, because I am talking about believing in God, not belonging in any religion. I don’t have to care about any religion or belong to any cult to believe in God. I believe in God because to me it is a necessity more than an option. My belief in a greater power blends well with the kind of person I am, I need some one to lean on all time and that level of support can’t be sought in anyone human.
Not believing in God would mean putting too burden much on my own shoulders, that would mean fighting a lone battle with no reassurance or hope!  There are times in our life where I can do nothing but to simply hope for the best – situations where I feel useless and helpless. Instances when I want to do something, but am powerless to do anything worthy. Like when somebody close to me is severely ill or if there is something that I cannot change how much ever I would want to or at some confusing crossroads of life where nothing makes sense and nothing looks good. In such terrible junctures of life, belief in God has always been my only solace.I could at least pray and it is better than merely standing aside.The unbearable uncertainty in life would sometimes drive me crazy.That is when I need to believe in somebody above everybody ! That is when I need a God! My belief gives me the much needed reassurance and make me feel more useful in the moments of helplessness.

When something terrible happens and that shatters us, when we cannot find a single solid reason to justify the tragedy, when we find ourselves and everybody around us in an inconsolable grief, we need a God to support us.It is to somehow convince ourselves that there is an explanation to all these, it is just that we can’t comprehend it.

Sometimes we  need a God to vent our insecurities and fears. Sometimes God is needed to take blame of all the bad things that happens around us. At other times we need a God to find hope in the darkest phase of our life.When we lose the power to keep going, a belief that it is a part of the bigger plan and that everything has to have a brighter side might help.

God is somebody who knows you for who you are, its a level of honesty that you cannot share with anyone human.Even if it is an invisible presence,once you decide the possibility of such an existence ,it gives you an opportunity to lay down your raw emotions at least once in while in front of someone other than yourselves.

But the biggest reason we need to believe in God and in an after life is Death itself.
When we lose somebody very close to us, how do we cope with it if you don’t believe in a life after death? How would we just tell ourselves that he/she has ceased to exist, and we can never ever see that person?May be over time we grow used to their non existence.But what about the immediate,crushing grief? We all might have at least one such situation in life where we have to believe in the possibility of the existence of a nicer place where our loved ones are happily waiting for us.  It would help us cross the bridge of grief, until we get accustomed to our loss.
What about the fear of our own death? How can we ever face the possibility of being dead every other second without believing in God?
I agree that strong people might not need a God to cross these hurdles. But I am not a strong person and my belief is like an umbrella that keeps me sheltered from the realities.I agree that over years my concept of God has undergone drastic transformation. But the belief in God stays and I am sure it will continue to stay, because it is something that helps me cope with life!

I don’t believe in God to achieve place in heaven or have a beautiful after life. I believe in God to be able to continue living in the perplexing place called earth and to pull myself out from all the heartbreaks and shocks this place has to offer. Even if I die one day and there is nothing but non existence awaiting me on the other side, I won’t be disappointed. My belief would have already served it’s purpose during the course of my life!

So if you have found my theory a little senseless, then did I not warn you in the beginning 🙂

9 thoughts on “Why I am not an Atheist

  1. I believe in God. I have experienced GOD. During my childhood without any guidance I used to go to temple. I am an ardent devotee of Anthikad Bhagawati. I agree with you it is wonderful to believe when you have no one to help. I had faced situations in life where I felt the existence of God. I am a soul surrendered to Lord Krishna. My welfare and prosperity is now His responsibility. If He decides to help me, no one on earth can do anything to me. If He decides to finish me, no one on earth can help me. Hence I don’t have any worries. I am happy and will remain happy.

  2. “I don’t believe in God anticipating a place in heaven or a beautiful after life. I believe in God to be able to continue living in the perplexing place called earth and to pull myself out from all the heartbreaks and shocks this place has to offer. Even if I die one day and there is nothing but non existence awaiting me on the other side, I won’t be disappointed. My belief would have already served it’s purpose during the course of my life!”…………lovely thought. Its the same for me too…I believe in the supreme power irrespective of any religion. 🙂

  3. Good one. Well written.
    Loved
    I believe in God to be able to continue living in the perplexing place called earth and to pull myself out from all the heartbreaks and shocks this place has to offer

  4. Your ‘theory’ did not appeal to me, but that’s immaterial. What matters is the fact that you are comfortable with your beliefs.

    Each person must be comfortable with his/her beliefs, and must respect the right of every other person to have his/her beliefs.

I would love to know what you thought....

