Movies

A long drive with Krish 3


I am a musical novice. I generally don’t gather enough courage to comment on songs of any kind. What if the song that I had just heard and disliked was a musical genius of some kind? So I usually blame my ill taste and move on.

But then this week end I was exposed to the exhilarating experience of listening to the songs from Krish 3 again and again. We had gone to a near by city that was 4 hours drive from our home and we forgot to take the i pod. So as fate could have it, we were stuck with only one cd that had songs from Krish 3,Chennai express and Ashiqui 2. Naturally the songs from the above movies took their turns to enrich our travel experience.

As I said earlier I am not going to comment on the music of the songs. But then what can I tell about a song that had the following lines?

You are my love
You are my dove
You’re my cuddly pudding pie
Tere kadmon mein dil rakh dun
Until I’m gonna die

I thought I had heard it all when these followed

You’re my bun
You’re my one
You’re the apple of my eye

and I called it quits when I heard these

You’re my date
You’re my fate
You’re my heaven in the sky

Could there have been something more , some gem of inner meanings in these words which I had failed to comprehend?

The other songs of the movie offer fair competition to the above song.There was this song that had “Krish Krish” and “He is Krish” whispered in a spooky way through out. But then initially  I had a great time attempting to count the occurrence of the word Krish in the song. Excluding the first second and third echoes of the word, I counted around 20 Krishs :)…By the time I listened to the song 5 times, the word kept echoing in my ears.Now that is a good marketing strategy :).

The ‘Raghupathy Raghava Rajaram’ number left me wondering what those three words had to do with the rest of the song.(I liked the video of the song though,Hrithik’s performance was commendable)

May be the movie makers felt the words ‘Ram’,’Raghav’ etc repeated n number of times might pose a threat to their secular attitudes. To compensate the same they have luxuriously taken the support of “God,Allah and Bhagvan” in yet another song.No one gets miffed, all the Gods get a mention.

This being one of the most expensive movies made in the recent times, why would have the makers ignored their song lyrics part? but then as I had told in the beginning, I could be wrong.I would be greatly interested to know if these songs made any better sense to any one of you.

6 thoughts on “A long drive with Krish 3

  1. And you know what…after having seen the song in which Hrithik and Kangana are there (don’t even remember the lyrics), I didn’t muster the courage to even go and watch the movie. The hubby did take the girls out. 😀

  2. From what I have heard about the movie, the song lyrics were not the only department that was found lacking in this particular movie. But guess what, Indian audiences seem to love it, and the latest news is that it might just end up being the first movie to make INR 300 crores, go figure!!!

I would love to know what you thought....

